

# **GOA UNIVERSITY**

Sports Section Taleigao Plateau Goa 403 206 Tel: 8669609018/8669609075.

# REPORT OF INTER COLLIEGIATE CRICKET CHAMPIONSHIPS (MEN & WOMEN) 2022-2023

Game/Sport organized	1. Cricket Men
Vanua	University Ground, Geo University, Talaigae, Geo
Venue	University Ground, Goa University, Taleigao-Goa 10 <sup>th</sup> March to 6 <sup>th</sup> April, 2023.
	10 March to 0 April, 2023.
Date of competition	
Number of College participated	44
Winner	S.S. Dempo College of Commerce and Economics Cujira
D	Government College of Arts, Science, Khandola.
Runner	

Game/Sport organized	2. Cricket Women
Venue	University Ground, Goa University, Taleigao-Goa
	5 <sup>th</sup> April to 17 <sup>th</sup> April, 2023.
Date of competition	
Number of College participated	14
Winner	DM's College and Research Centre, Assagao
Runner	Don Bosco College, Panjim



## **Overall observation**

#### DM'S COLLEGE WINS INTERCOLLEGIATE WOMENS CRICKETS CHAMPIONSHIP 2022-23

Goa University organised the Inter Collegiate Cricket Championship for Women 2022-23 from 5<sup>th</sup> April to 17<sup>th</sup> April, 2023 at University Ground, Goa University, Taleigao-Goa.

In the finals, DM's College and Research Centre, Assagao defeated Don Bosco College, Panjim by 130 runs. After winning the toss, DM's college elected to bat first, and showed complete domination by scoring 226/4 in 20 overs. Poorva Bhaidkar scored quick 123 in 73 balls and Mitali Gawander could score 21 runs of 16 balls. For Don Bosco College, Panjim Arpita Swant took 2 wickets giving 30 runs and Aniksha Morajkar took 2 wickets giving away 46 runs..

Chasing a mammoth total of 226, Don Bosco College could only score 96 runs for 6 wickets in 20 overs. For Don Bosco College, Anita Chaoudhary scored 29 of 38 balls and Sonam Mhalsekar scored 10 of 24 balls. Mitali Gawander of DM's College took away 3 wickets giving 16 runs and Ridah Shaikh took 1 wicket for 20 runs to restrict the DBC College from chasing the target.

In the Individual prizes, Best Batter was awarded to Poorva Bhaidker of DM's college, while Best Bowler was bagged by Amisha Lotlikar of Don Bosco College and Player of the tournament was awarded to Mitali Gawander of DM's College.

In total 14 Women's teams participated in the said Championship.

Chief Guest Prof. (Mrs.) Vrinda Pradip S. Borker, Principal of Dhempe College of Arts and Science, Miramar graced the presentation ceremony and presented trophies to the winners and runners ups.

DM's College Women Cricket team: Nikit Naik, Samiksha Raul, Reshma Rathod, Laxmi Chawan, Purvaja Rathod, Urvashi Govekar, Poorva Bhaidker, Roshni Parab Mayekar, Metali Gawander, Savitrikumari Kumavat, Sanjana Malvankar, Srilekha Yadla, Ridah Shaikh.

## S.S. DEMPO COLLEGE WINS INTERCOLLEGIATE MENS CRICKETS CHAMPIONSHIP 2022-23

Goa University organised the Inter Collegiate Cricket Championship for Men 2022-23 from 10<sup>th</sup> March to 6<sup>th</sup> April, 2023 at University Ground, Goa University, Taleigao-Goa.

S.S. Dempo College of Commerce and Economics Cujira defeated Government College of Arts, Science, Khandola by 86 runs.

In the finals, Dempo College was put on to bat first. And showed a full domination by scoring 216/5 in 20 overs. Anand Tendulkar scored a quick fire 79 runs of 39 balls and Sagar Vantamuri showed his consistency with a bat too scoring 49 runs in 26 balls. For Govt. College, Kandola; Prathamesh Kunkalkar (1/37); Rishab Gaonkar (1/31) and Rishikesh Naik (1/11) took one wicket each.

Chasing a mammoth total of 218, Government College Khandola got a good start with a score of 46/2 in 5 overs. Later on due to frequent fall of wickets Government College Khandola lost their momentum and ended up scoring 131/9 in 20 overs. Major contributions from the bat came from Prasad Harle and Prathamesh Sawant scoring 26 runs in 11 balls and 23 in 10 balls respectively. Sagar Vantamuri took 5 wickets conceding only 22 runs while Mehank Dharwadkar (1/17), Anand Tendulkar (1/24) and Abhinandan Thakur (1/30) took one wicket each.

In the Individual prizes, Best Batter was awarded to Anand Tendulkar of S.S. Dempo College, while Best Bowler was bagged by Prasad Harle of Govt. College, Khandola. And Player of the tournament was awarded to Sagar Vantamuri of S. S. Dempo College.

In total 40 men's teams participated in the said Championship.

Chief Guest Mr. Ramrao Surya Wagh, Associate Professor & Program Director, Computer Science

Discipline of Goa Business School, Goa University, and Guest of Honour Prof. Manoj Kamat, Principal, S.S. Dempo College graced the presentation ceremony and presented trophies to the winners and runners ups.

**S.S. Dempo Men Cricket team:** Abhinandan Thakur, Devanshu Mangueshcar, Prashant Patil, Gopal Naik, Yash Manjrekar, Mohammed Bateri, Aryan Mashelkar, Neelang Naik, Pratik Naik, Mehank Dharwadkar, Jatin Lotlikar, Anand Tendulkar, Soham Parikar, Arakhita Patro, Swayam Naik, Sagar Vantamuri

**Protest/In-discipline if any** 

**Report submitted by:** 

Asst. Sports Officer-II

GOA +

Asst. Director of Physical Education and Sport

## PHOTOS



Winners:- DM's College and Research Centre, Assagao



Runners :- Don Bosco College, Panjim



Runners:- Government College of Arts, Science, Khandola.